Whatsapp has disclosed that no one will have their accounts deleted or lose functionality of WhatsApp on May 15th because of this update. For the last several weeks they have displayed a notification in WhatsApp providing more information about the update. After giving everyone time to review, Whatsapp will continue to remind those who haven’t had the chance to do so to review and accept. After a period of several weeks, the reminder people receive will eventually become persistent.
At that time, you’ll encounter limited functionality on WhatsApp until you accept the updates. This will not happen to all users at the same time. You won’t be able to access your chat list, but you can still answer the incoming phone and video calls. If you have notifications enabled, you can tap on them to read or respond to a message or call back a missed phone or video call. After a few weeks of limited functionality, you won’t be able to receive incoming calls or notifications and WhatsApp will stop sending messages and calls to your phone.
You can export your chat history on Android or iPhone, and download a report of your account. You can export your chats and download a report of your account on your own. If you need help downloading a report of your account or deleting your account, you can contact them here.
WhatsApp won’t delete your account if you don’t accept the update. Keep in mind that separately, our existing policy related to inactive users will apply. If you’d like to delete your account on Android, iPhone, or KaiOS. Deleting your account is something that can’t be reversed as it erases your message history, removes you from all of your WhatsApp groups, and deletes your WhatsApp backups.