Google recently announced new storage policies for Google Accounts using Gmail, Google Drive (including Google Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drawings, Forms, and Jamboard files) and/or Google Photos. If you have previously used one or more of these products in your Google Account storage, you must know about the new policies well before they go into effect on June 1, 2021. Below is a summary of the new policies.
Summary of the new policies (effective June 1, 2021):
• If you’re inactive for 2 years (24 months) in Gmail, Drive or Photos, Google may delete the content in the product(s) in which you’re inactive. Google One members who are within their storage quota and in good-standing will not be impacted by this new inactive policy.
• If you exceed your storage limit for 2 years, Google may delete your content across Gmail, Drive and Photos.
What this means for you:
• You won’t be impacted by these changes unless you’ve been inactive or over your storage limit for 2 years. As this policy goes into effect June 1, 2021, the earliest it would be enforced is June 1, 2023.
• After June 1, 2021, if you are either inactive or over your storage limit, Google will send you email reminders and notifications in advance and prior to deleting any content.
• Even if you are either inactive or over your storage limit for one or more of these services and content is deleted, you will still be able to sign in.
• Note: The inactivity and over quota storage policies will apply only to consumer users of Google services. Google Workspace, G Suite for Education and G Suite for Nonprofits policies are not changing at this time, and admins should look to the Admin Help center for storage policies related to their subscriptions.
|Learn more about the over quota policy and what counts against storage quota|